Psychology Today

In an attempt to educate myself, I decided to read Psychology Today, which produced such uplifting gems as, “Why wait for marriage? Do it before you’re too old, like 30. Don’t do something stupid like ‘wait to get your career started’ because then you’ll never meet anyone good again” and more notably “Fuck you, science says there’s no afterlife and I don’t know why you’re being such a fucking cry baby about it because logically it’s not that big of a deal. I mean, what, it wasn’t such a big deal before you were born.

Therefore, it seems my quest to learn more about anxiety and depression is working. That is, I at least have several scientific sources that reaffirm my cynical viewpoint and current existential crisis.

“Vladimir Nabokov, [said] that ‘our existence is but a brief crack of light between two eternities of darkness’. Brains that think otherwise – brains that deny they are brains and believe instead that they are eternal souls – are brains that hold false beliefs about themselves.”

Well, Jesus Christ. I guess.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About jessicacabot

I'm a person and sometimes other things.

Leave a Reply

