Fame.

fame_poster-337x500

I almost forgot I saw this movie, but then I remembered. Perhaps because Fame only has a vague suggestion of a plot.

Thus, my review in short is this: watching Fame is a lot like going on a mediocre date at the Cheesecake Factory. It’s not a terrible way to spend two hours, and is even very enjoyable in some parts, but in the end you’ll totally forget it happened.

The circumstances of my viewing of this movie were ironic. I initially had zero interest in seeing it, but was persuaded by the promise of being “social.” Because of traffic, I got to the theater only in time to see the movie, not to talk to people. (These were the people who wanted to see this movie.)

After the movie I discovered during some brief conversations that, of everyone who saw the movie, I was the only one who seemed to enjoy it at all. Everyone else who, again, wanted to see it, did not seem to care for it. And then we parted ways.

I enjoyed it because some of the music was good, and because all of it took place in New York. I was reminded of fonder days of going to sketchy, ridiculous night clubs such as Webster Hall. The glory days of taking subways and being young and drunk in random parks, rapping to the Beastie Boys.

Also, jesus christ, the girl who danced was way too hot.

I also learned that, apparently, black families in New York are hard-asses and either don’t want their kids to go into creative fields or have very specific constraints on which creative pursuits are acceptable. I sort of wish this had been expanded upon, but instead these moms and dads just seemed like uptight assholes.

So I guess my “note” is this: if you’re going to make a pseudo-documentary, don’t half ass it. Like, actually give background and depth to these characters, because there seems to be some legitimate social commentary being ignored.

The girl was super hot. I wished I could be her and be hot and dance like that.

Although, if I hadn’t watched this movie in a theater, and instead saw it at home, I am very confident that I would have found facebook to be more interesting. Then again, it’s pretty difficult to beat facebook.

In short (for the second time): this movie’s strengths were New York City, dancing, hot girls, and some good music. It’s flaws were everything else.

Tags: , ,

About jessicacabot

I'm a person and sometimes other things.

2 responses to “Fame.”

  1. dancesihaveseen says :

    I really don’t understand movies ‘these days’ (contemporary? modern? avant-garde?) that spend so much time on incredibly beautiful sensory overloading scenes but lack any sense of character development. I’m talking about Harry Potter too. The scenes were great, they were so fun to watch, but none of it made much sense because the characters were only shown having weird surfacy emotions completely detached from the actions going on. For example, new Star Wars vs old Star Wars. The first was able to show a lot of fantasy and magic while still maintaining real characters. Maybe I’m wrong, but maybe I’m not. yeah. Maybe high definition just makes me feel nostalgic.

Leave a Reply

