Dear Social Media Network,

There comes a time in every Millennial’s life where they must sit back, take a look, evaluate their efforts, and ask themselves, “am I getting enough attention on the Internet?”

However, it seems to me that the real question is “do you even have to ask?” because if one has to ask if they are getting enough attention the answer is probably clear that they are not.

I myself have come to one of these periods of self-reflection and it seems, indeed, that I am not getting enough attention on the Internet. Now, I could sit back and ask myself why this is, but in an age where attention is the end-game it seems foolish to contemplate whether my efforts have been “good enough” or even “enough”. I have a BLOG, sir, I did a thing once! I think we can all agree that that thing I did once was publicly humiliating enough that it warrants some more “views”.

And so, because I am clearly awesome and entitled to having a lot of people pay attention to me just because I am a young person who has been characterized as demanding that this be the case – I am now imploring you – my online social media network… no… demanding! that you pay more attention to me and what I am doing on the Internet.

Does this mean I have to write more and make more stupid videos in my room? Ugh, probably, but for now I would like to take this time to re-exploit my previous efforts in a grab for more attention. I will be re-posting one of my old YouTube videos or blog posts every day on all of my social media outlets until someone pays attention to me.

If you are hoping I fail and move back to Ohio, joke is on you! I am from LA so you have been fairly warned about the kind of delusion you are up against.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Best,

Jessica

Tags: , , , , , ,

About jessicacabot

I'm a person and sometimes other things.

One response to “Dear Social Media Network,”

  1. Alex Rodabaugh says :

    Thank you so much for this brave post! Your feelings about needing more attention on the internet are both valid and NEEDED! If there was ever a time when Jessica Cabot was under saturated on the internet it is right NOW. I applaud your efforts and look forward to seeing more of you all the time everywhere.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,234 other followers

